(1980–1994, 1996–present)
CFL in the USA Divisions (1995)

Hamilton Foot Ball Club was the first organized football club in Canada, a predecessor of the Hamilton Tiger-Cats. This was followed by the formation of eastern Canada teams, the Montreal Foot Ball Club in 1872, the Toronto Argonaut Football Club in 1873 and the Ottawa Football Club (the future Ottawa Rough Riders) in 1876.

Maritime Football Ltd is hoping to bring the 10th CFL team to Halifax, NS. It has proposed Shannon Park, along the east side of Halifax harbour, as the site for a 24,000-seat stadium. St.Mary's Huskies (U Sports Football) play at Huskies Stadium in the city which has a maximum capacity of 9,100 and therefore is not deemed suitable for a CFL team. It is hoped the team will start play in 2021. Atlantic Schooners were a planned team that was founded in 1982 and to be based out of Dartmouth, NS but their franchise application was dropped 13 months later.

Anthony LeBlanc, leading the project and former owner of the NHL's Arizona Coyotes, has started a season ticket drive to see the number of people who will come to games. Fans can commit to a season ticket for less than a $100 deposit, but this will be fully refunded if the team never hits the field. Single game tickets are expected to be CDN$25 to CDN$30 and up to hundreds that include food for club seats.

On November 23, 2018, two days before the 106th Grey Cup, Maritime Football Ltd and commissioner Ambrosie announced the new team would be called the 'Atlantic Schooners'. At that time the Maritime Football Ltd. partnership changed their name to Schooners Sports and Entertainment (SSE). By December 21, 2018 the SSE had sold over 6,000 season ticket deposits. It has been suggested that the target year for the proposed team to play in the league would be 2021. The potential new franchise could play in Moncton,NB while the stadium in Halifax is built.

Since 1958 when the CFL was founded.
1958 9 British Columbia Lions
Calgary Stampeders
Edmonton Eskimos
Hamilton Tiger-Cats
Montreal Alouettes
Ottawa Rough Riders
Saskatchewan Roughriders
Toronto Argonauts
Winnipeg Blue Bombers
1982 9 Montreal Concordes
(formerly Montreal Alouettes)
1986 9 Montreal Alouettes
(formerly Montreal Concordes)
1987 8 Montreal Alouettes
1993 9 Sacramento Gold Miners
1994 12 Baltimore CFLers
Las Vegas Posse
1995 13 Baltimore Stallions (CFLers)
Birmingham Barracudas
Memphis Mad Dogs
San Antonio Texans
(from Sacramento)
Las Vegas Posse
1996 9 Montreal Alouettes Baltimore Stallions
Birmingham Barracudas
Memphis Mad Dogs
San Antonio Texans
1997 8 Ottawa Rough Riders
2002 9 Ottawa Renegades
2006 8 Ottawa Renegades
2014 9 Ottawa RedBlacks
Updated: 18 january 2019