Tulsa Golden Hurricane (25)

Tulsa Golden Hurricane (25)
Big 8 Conference (1907-1995)
The Missouri Valley Conference was formed in 1907, as the Missouri Valley Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MVIAA), with five teams Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska and Washington (MO).

In 1928, the MVIAA grew to 10 teams, 6 state schools (Iowa State, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska and Oklahoma) split away and became known as the 'Big Six' and later the Big 8 Conference (1907-1995). Drake, Grinnell, Washington, and Oklahoma A&M (now Oklahoma State) formed the Missouri Valley Conference. For the remainder of the Big Eight Conference's existence, both conferences claimed 1907 as their founding date and shared their history with each other up until the end of the 1927 season.

By the 1960s, the rising costs of football had meant that basketball could no longer subsidise football programs and so the MVC looked west and added both New Mexico State and West Texas State (now West Texas A&M) in 1970 and 1971 respectively. Cincinnati (1971), Memphis State (1973) and Louisville (1975) left the conference as they wanted to play regional games and were replaced by Indiana State (1976), Southern Illinois (1977) and Illinois State (1981). New Mexico State left in 1982.

Following the 1985 season, 5 out of the final 7 teams (Drake, Illinois State, Indiana State, Southern Illinois and West Texas State) would drop from Division I-A football (now the FBS) and both Tulsa and Wichita State became independents the following season. In 1986, Wichita State would drop football altogether.