TBA (1)
Vince McMahon, Chairman and CEO of the WWE (World Wrestling Entertainment) sold $100m in his stake in the WWE to fund Alpha Entertainment LLC to explore sports and entertainment opportunities including professional football. Alpha registered trademarks including 'XFL2020' with an announcement on 25th January 2018 which stated that the new league would return in 2020. The new league, and the predecessor to the original XFL launched in 2001, will start in January/February to fill the gap not currently filled by the CFL, College Football and NFL. The AAF would have been its main rival, but it failed to complete a single season.
It is made up of 8 teams (operated as a single entity and owned by the league) who will play a 10-week season, followed by a 4-team playoff that will end with the Championship Game. St.Louis is the only one of the 8 teams that is not based in an NFL city. The team names, colours and logos were announced on 21 August 2019 but no helmet designs.

In addition to the eight competitive teams, the XFL will also operate a centralized practice squad and farm team, which will operate as a full team with a coaching staff and roster but will not play any on-the-record games against the other eight teams. The team will share practice facilities with the Dallas Renegades and is internally known as "Team 9."
The Championship Game has yet be determined where it will be played.
Updated: 22 AUGUST 2019